Questions

3 Nov

Dear Students,

I really enjoyed our first week together as a class, and I am looking forward to the next couple of months. 

I would like you to read the questions below and try to answer some of them.  Please click “Comment” and then share your comment with the rest of the class. 

1. How can you meet more people in Vancouver?

2. What advice can you give new ELSA students?

3. Can you remember a time when you were successful at learning something?  How did you learn it?  What did you do to learn it?

You can practice your writing and feel more comfortable with your writing in English by commenting on our blog.  The more you write, the more comfortable you will be and the more you will improve.  I look forward to reading your comments.

Sincerely,

Jennifer

2 Responses to “Questions”

  1. Jingjing November 6, 2011 at 12:06 am #

    We can meet more people when we go shopping, walking, jogging in park, having meal in restaurant. There’s lots of places we can meet more people. The people in Vancouver are nice and friendly. They like to talk to you. One time I was shopping in Safeway and wanted to buy some dried cranberries. An old lady just passed me and she saw that I want to buy the cranberries. Then she came to me and told me “don’t buy this stuff here, it’s too expensive, go to COSTCO”. She told me lots of things like where I can buy cheapest hotdog, where I can buy the fresh fruit, meat. She is really nice. We talked a long time. Therefore, I would like to tell the new ESLA students, don’t be shy and always be prepared. Sometimes, the people want to talk to us, but the conversation ends quickly just because we’re shy and don’t know what we should say. So, make sure you are always keeping confidence and be prepared.

    • Jennifer November 6, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

      Jing Jing,

      I love that you shared this wonderful experience with your classmates. Many times we feel shy or are scared that others don’t want to talk to us, but most of the time, the opposite is true. There are people who are willing to talk to us. It might just take a little bit of luck and maybe a little bit of an attitude shift on our part. I’m going to connect what you wrote with what Andrey wrote about having a positive mindset. If we feel positive about meeting new people, then the people we will eventually meet will also be positive and friendly. I also like that you mentioned being prepared to carry the conversation. That is so true. Sometimes we give the feeling that we have nothing more to say and that is why the conversation ends.

      Thanks for your insight.

      Jen

Leave a Reply

