Wednesday, March 7, 2012

7 Mar

Hello Students,

One of the things we did today was read an article about Harper Seven.  I’m interested in finding out what you think about giving your child an unusual name.  Would you give your child a name that is far from ordinary?  Why or why not?

What else did we do today?  I would love to read your thoughts and comments about today’s class.  It would also help the students who were absent today.

If you want to double check your answers to the article, “How did Harper Seven get her Name?”, click here.

Thanks,
Jennifer

10 Responses to “Wednesday, March 7, 2012”

  1. ATSUKO March 8, 2012 at 3:40 am #

    Today is Happy Hump day! Hump is new word for me. Many new words were learned today also. At first, we discussed about using a mobile phone when driving a car. My new words were Collisions, Distraced, Pay a fine. And we talked about short story for reviewed the tag question. Since it does not use easily, I want to practice a tag question more and use it naturally. And also we practiced speed reading of the story for Bekham’s new baby name. In the latest Japan, it is in the tendency to give the name which leads also in English, since it is hard to memorize a Japanese name to the person of other countries.

    • Jen March 8, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

      Happy Hump Day to you too, Atsuko! I liked how you used the passive voice in your comment. You learned that in Alex’s class, didn’t you?

      Have you had the chance to practice tag questions outside class? I’d love to hear about it!

      Thanks for sharing information about name trends in Japan. Do you think it’s a good idea to give names that are also “English” names in Japan as opposed to more “Japanese” names?

      I actually love the sound of Japanese names.

      Jennifer

  2. Joyce March 8, 2012 at 12:06 am #

    Good evening Jennifer,
    Today, we learned an interesting article about a baby girl ’ s name I think Harper Seven Beckham is very lucky. She has a far from ordinary name which will be remembered by most people. I didn’t give my child an especial Chinese name because I think the name should be easy to read and write. .
    We were practiced to take one minute to read this article. It is very helpful for us to know this reading way to improve our reading ability. We also learned some new words and phrases in a novelty manner.
    Thank you for a great lesson

    • Jen March 8, 2012 at 12:54 am #

      Hello Joyce,

      Thanks for leaving a comment on our blog. I guess you’re right. People will remember Harper Seven’s name. It’s definitely a difficult name to forget.

      Thanks for sharing information how you named your child. I love Chinese writing. The characters look like little pictures. What is your child’s name? Does it have a special meaning?

      Jennifer

  3. Nooria March 7, 2012 at 10:56 pm #

    Good evening Jennifer,

    I appreciated your,s teaching.Today I learned about femous family David and Victoria Beckham and their children. Also I got information how she became the babies. I learned many new words.I tried to practice the phrases and used when I wrote sentences.I thought
    many people liked to named their children far from ordinary names.

    • Jen March 8, 2012 at 12:51 am #

      Hi Nooria,

      Thanks for leaving a comment on our blog. What words or phrases did you find useful? Which ones did you try to use outside of class?

      Which names are common in your country? Is your name common?

      Thanks,
      Jennifer

  4. Ivan March 7, 2012 at 10:55 pm #

    Today we discussed a topic about using cell phones while driving and learnt new words for this theme. We practiced speed reading of the text “How did Harper Seven get her Name?” and tried to find the right words and phrases according to their definitions. I got to know several words and phrases I have never used before. My partner shared her story about her bycicle stolen from her backyard, it was found later. I told her my story about my wallet that I left on a bush in Aqua Park in Spain. I found it on the same place. I was surprised that nobody took it. I really enjoyed the class today.

    • Jen March 8, 2012 at 12:48 am #

      Ivan,

      Thanks for giving a detailed account of the class. I also appreciate the fact that you shared a little of your partner’s story as well as your own.

      I was wondering how long you lived in Spain? Where did you live in Spain? Have you lived in other countries?

      Jennifer

  5. Maricruz March 7, 2012 at 4:03 pm #

    Today was an interested day for me, i learned news words and i practiced. we learned about a famous family and their children we talked about beckham’s family how their kids got their unusual name also we saw some taq questions and we had to write on the white board.

    • Jen March 8, 2012 at 12:46 am #

      Maricruz,

      I’m happy to hear that it was an interesting day for you.

      It sounds like you learned a lot of things!

      In terms of your writing, make sure that your sentence is not a run-on sentence. That means that you have more than one clause that is not joined by a conjunction.

      I’m looking forward to more comments from you.

      Jennifer

Leave a Reply

