March 13, 2012

13 Mar

Russell Peters is a Canadian comedian.  He usually points out funny things about different cultures and Canadians.  He loves to laugh at his own culture.

This is a popular snippet about how his dad tried to become more Canadian.

6 Responses to “March 13, 2012”

  1. Ivan March 14, 2012 at 10:20 am #

    Yesterday we discussed about fatal accident that happened on last weekend at the world cup ski cross competition. One of the athlets was deadly hurt by cillision with another sportman. It was a sad part of the lesson.
    Also I found that I almost forgot some words, if to be more exact, some verbs that should follow by Gerunds and sould follow by Infinitives! It’s one of the hardest part of English.
    Another part of the lesson was fun. We watched a short clip with Peter Russell. He is Canadian stand up comedian. He told small story how his father had intended to become a Canadian. It was intresting. After school I tryed to watch another clip with Peter’s participation. I like good humor. My daughter and I love to watch Cosby show; I thik it’s our favorite show. It’s witty, with delicate sense of humor and without any words in dirty language.

    • Jen March 14, 2012 at 12:13 pm #

      Hi Ivan,

      Thanks for commenting on the class. Yes, it’s always sad when such a young athlete dies in the prime of his life. (You can’t use “deadly hurt” because you need to use an adverb to describe how he was hurt. “Deadly” is an adjective. You have to use “fatally hurt”.)

      I’m glad you enjoyed Russel Peters. Sometimes, his sketches use dirty language, so I found one that was clean. When I was growing up, I loved watching The Cosby show! Is it still on TV? I’d like to invite the other students to receommend some good TV shows.

      Thanks,
      JEnnifer

  2. miki March 13, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

    Hi Jeniffer.Today we talked and made sentences about The skii cross athlete who died from a fatal accident in the world cup last week. Those kinds of sports always face with a danger. I also had a experience to hit my head so hard when I did snowbording.It brought my memories. we also reviewed some new words,and we paragraphed sentences to see some hints from the papers by using gerunds and infinitives. we had listening tests. The end of class,we watched a comedy episode with Russell peters which was about “how to become a canadian”. He got points how canadian people is and how Indian people is as well. That’s was so funny,I love it. I am looking forward to a class tomorrow. Have a good night(^^).

    • Jen March 14, 2012 at 9:09 am #

      Hello Miki,

      Thanks for sharing your own experience with us. How long have you been snowboarding? Do you ski as well? Maybe you can write about how to snowboard for people who are trying it for the first time.

      I’m glad you enjoyed Russell Peters. What else do you know about him? I’d like to invite all the students to share any information about Russell Peters on the blog.

      Many thanks,
      Jennifer

  3. Grace March 13, 2012 at 6:23 pm #

    Today we made setences about a gifted candada cross ski athelet who had a fatol accident during a competition. After that we practiced listening and we learned about using gerunds and infinitives when we talk about ways and methods. The last thing,We watched video clip about a faomous Canadian comedian Russell Peters;how to become a Canadin. Have a good night, guys.
    Grace

    • Jen March 14, 2012 at 9:07 am #

      Hello Grace,

      Thanks for writing a summary of the class. I’m sure that your classmates appreciate it. It was also useful that you tried to use some of the new words: “fatal” and “gifted”.

      I’m interested in knowing if you have any “tip”s on how to become a “Canadian”.

      Thanks,
      Jennifer

Leave a Reply

