The Hockey Sweater

10 May

“The Hockey Sweater” by Roch Carrier is a very famous Canadian story. Please read the story that I gave you on the weekend.

This is the video of the story that was made by the National Film Board of Canada.

Here are two videos about Maurice Richard, the hockey player that the main character idolizes.

What is the “The Hockey Sweater” about? Did you like the story? Have you ever had a similar experience?

Who is Maurice Richard? 

6 Responses to “The Hockey Sweater”

  1. heydayeveryday May 15, 2012 at 8:17 pm #

    Now I am understand
    http://resource.rockyview.ab.ca/rvlc/ela201/related_read/passions/hockey_sweater.pdf

  2. calin May 15, 2012 at 5:06 pm #

    Hi Jennifer,
    If I understand correctly this is the story .
    On a Sunday afternoon in 1992, Eric Adam sat folding laundry in the living room of his small apartment. He was half-listening to the news on TV and trying not to think back.
    Two years ago, Eric had been happy; he was engaged to marry a wonderful woman named Suzi. But Eric’s happiness ended suddenly. Suzi, who had a weak heart, died of a heart attack. She was thirty-three years old. Now, two years after Suzi’s death, Eric was still struggling with his grief. As he sat on his sofa, folding laundry, his thoughts kept returning to Suzi.
    The news on TV was about the summer Olympics. A reporter was talking about a young woman from Bosnia. She was a runner who was training for the Olympics. Twice a day, she ran through the streets of Sarajevo. “Sarajevo?” Eric wondered. There was a war going on in that city of Sarajevo. How could anyone train for the Olympics in Sarajevo? Eric stopped folding the laundry and looked at the TV. On the screen, a young woman in a track suit was running through Sarajevo’s streets. She was running with her head held high, even though snipers occasionally tried to shoot her. She ran straight toward the camera and then she was gone. The news report was over.
    Eric stared at the TV. He was stunned. What courage the woman had! Eric wanted to meet this woman. That wouldn’t be easy. She lived halfway around the world, and Eric didn’t even know her name.
    Eric went to the library and began looking through newspapers. finally, he found what he was looking for – a photo of the young woman running through the streets of Sarajevo. Under the photo was the woman’s name” Mirsada Buric. From the newspapers, Eric learned that Mirsada was no longer in Sarajevo. She was at the summer Olympic games in Barcelona, Spain.
    Eric wrote Mirsada a letter. He wrote that he had seen her on TV and wanted her to know that ” there is someone in America who admires you. If I can help you in any way, please let me know.
    Mirsada’s Olympic race was the 3,000 meters. Mirsada didn’t win, but when she crossed the finish line, the people in the stadium stood and cheered. They had seen Mirsada on TV, running through the streets of Sarajevo. In the eyes of the crowd, Mirsada was a winner.
    After the Olympics, Mirsada couldn’t return to Sarajevo because it was too dangerous. She went to Slovenia, a country north of Bosnia, as a refugee. Without her family, Mirsada was lonely. She thought about Eric’s letter and decided to answer it, with the help of her Bosnian – English dictionary. Eric answered her letter and sent a picture of himself. For the next few months, letters flew back and forth between Eric and Mirsada. Finally, Eric wrote that he was flying to Slovenia.
    At nine o’clock in the evening, Mirsada stood on a street corner in Slovenia, waiting for Eric. A small car pulled up, and a young man with brown hair and blue eyes stepped out of the car. It was Eric. He ran to Mirsada smiling. ” How are you? ” Eric asked. “Fine,” Mirsada answered. Then they looked at each other and laughed. Eric couldn’t speak Bosnian, and Mirsada couldn’t speak English. Eric went to the car and got the woman who was translating for him.
    Mirsada, Eric, and the translator went to Mirsada’s apartment, where Eric and Mirsada talked until sunrise. Then Eric had to go, or he would miss his flight back to the United States. As he walked toward the car, Eric saw sadness in Mirsada’s eyes. Suddenly he said,” Do you want to come to the United States? There’d be no strings attached – I’ll buy a round trip ticket, so you can go home anytime.” Mirsada began to cry. ” No,” she answered. ” Thank you. But no. ” Eric kissed Mirsada on the cheek and said,” Well, if you ever change your mind, the offer stands. ” Then he was gone.
    Mirsada thought about Eric’s offer for weeks. Finally, she decided to go to the United States.
    In March 1993, nine months after Eric first saw her on TV, Mirsada arrived in Phoenix, Arizona. She moved into Eric’s apartment, where she and Eric lived together like a brother and a sister.
    Mirsada studied English. She started college. She ran in dozens of races and won most of them. And, she fell in love with Eric, who was already in love with her. In December, they were married.
    In the summer of 1996, the Olympic torch passed through Phoenix, Arizona on its way to the games in Atlanta, Georgia. Mirsada was chosen to carry the torch through Phoenix. As Mirsada ran through the cheering crowd, she thought about everything she had done since the last Olympics. She had come to the United States, learned English, and graduated from college. She had won races. She had fallen in love and gotten married. And now she was carrying the Olympic torch through the streets of Phoenix. She ran as she had run through the streets of Sarajevo – with her head held high.

    Until next time bye , bye

  3. Asuka May 14, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

    Hi Jennifer,

    I watched the story and report news but some parts hard to understand because I feel sleepy now…i`ll watch again one more time.

    As I know from these, Maurice Richard is charismatic hokey player for Montreal Canadien`s fun and all kids copy him to became strong hokey player but if wearing the different team`s sweater even same mind but people judging and put outside their world.

    I had similar experience when I junior high school.We had trend to have domestic designer clothes and bags but it`s expensive even T shirts even so I asked to buy it to my parents, grand mother and also my uncle…because I wanted have same clothes and bags as my friends however those clothes was still most expensive clothes in my life!!!

    When My sister was 20ish buying luxury bag Ruis Vuitton and saying to me u should have nice bag when your age also other young people having same bags.It`s very good quality but I strongly believe those bag for more mature person and I wanna spend money for my other things.I always asked my sister then how much money do u have in Ruis Vuitton bag and wallet?My sister most of time said $10..

    In my opinion, important is what is your worth and mind however many people can`t follow it due to the fact that other people opinions.

  4. van May 13, 2012 at 12:09 am #

    Hi Jennifer,
    I had check out the internet and I know Maurice Richard was a French-Canadian professional ice- hockey player who play for Montreal Canadiens from 1942 to 1960.
    I really like this story.I feel amused and interested in it because the boy in this story had character like me before.When I was in secondary- school,my idol was a famous actress.She very beautiful and talent.I hope I could well-looking and well-known like her someday.So,I dressed up same style,watched all her film,searched all information about her,but my dream seem never come true.
    After I read and watched this video,I have a impression and a valuable lesson:”If you make up your mind about things before you try,you won`t go very far in this life”.I think it true and I will always remember it.
    Sometime you must try your best to do something or challenge even you like or not .Aftertime,you will feel surprised about what you can receive.
    Thank you for giving me a interesting story.
    Happy Mother`s Day to you .Wishing you have a day to relax,a day have fun,a day not working,a wonderful day filled with happy and laugh!
    van,

    • Jen May 14, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

      Hi Van,

      Thanks for leaving such a detailed and informative comment. Yes, Maurice Richard was one of the most famous Canadian hockey players.

      Thanks also for sharing your memory of wanting to be like an idol. I remember that I used to really like Madonna and all the girls in my school wanted to dance and sing like her.

      I also like how you share a lesson that you learned from the video. I think that the quote you share really does ring true.

      Thanks also for your wishes for a Happy Mother’s Day. I hope all mothers enjoyed a wonderful day yesterday as well.

      Jennifer

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Christian’s year in hockey 2011-2012 | nate1969 - May 11, 2012

    […] The Hockey Sweater (eslwithjen.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

