May 31 News

31 May

Click here to read about how interned UBC students received their degrees 70 years later.

4 Responses to “May 31 News”

  1. Noriko June 12, 2012 at 5:58 pm #

    Hi Jen,

    I’ve finished reading a book, “Naomi’s Road” which you lent me. Reading it, I wiped tears from my eyes several times. I really feel that nothing is more terrible and sadder than wars. Naomi’s talk, “Mama said ‘Even when the world is on fire, there are safe roads to walk on'” have come to be one of my favorite words. Thank you for giving me a chance to read this book because I could learn about Japanese Canadians during World War II even though it’s just a part of it.

    Noriko

    • Jen June 12, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

      Your most welcome, Noriko. I’m glad that you enjoyed it. When you’re ready, you might want to try reading Obasan. There are many novels written by Japanese Canadians that you might like. If you have time, you can go to the library and check them out.

      Jen

  2. Noriko June 3, 2012 at 11:01 pm #

    Hi Jennifer,

    I’m embarrassed to say this, but I didn’t know much about how Japanese Canadians were discriminated against by the Canadian Government during World War II. I only knew that they had been treated unfairly at that time. I feel very sorry for them who were forced to lose most of their belongings by the government. Although it’s kind of disappointing to have taken 70 years, I’m happy with the news that interned Japanese-Canadian UBC students received their degrees finally. I really think that wars make many people unhappy.

    Noriko

    • Jen June 4, 2012 at 6:14 pm #

      Hi Noriko,
      Thanks for your comment. I don’t think you have to feel embarrassed, though. I think that Canada should feel ashamed for their actions. Hopefully, we have learned from our mistakes. If you’re interested, Joy Kogawa has written some books about this topic.

      Thanks again,
      Jen

Leave a Reply

